Hall of Fame Announces 2007 Inductees


Ralph Emery, Mel Tillis and Vince Gill are announced as the newest inductees of the Country Music Hall of Fame at a press conference today at the Country Music Hall of Fame and Museum. (l-r) Tillis; Gill; and Emery. Photo by John Russell, courtesy of the Country Music Association.

August 7, 2007 — This year's Country Music Hall of Fame Inductees have been announced. In the non-performer category is Ralph Emery; in the World War II to 1975 category is Mel Tillis; and in the 1975 to present category is Vince Gill. The honorees will be inducted at a ceremony to be held October 28 in Nashville, which will be taped and highlights of which may be used in the CMA Awards Show in November.

"Induction into the Country Music Hall of Fame is the highest musical honor a country music artist and industry veteran can attain," said Tammy Genovese, CMA Chief Operating Officer. "All three of these extraordinary men are highly deserving of this honor.

"Ralph Emery brought more than just country music into our homes via radio and television. His entertaining and thought-provoking interviews have always provided a unique glimpse into the personal side of our favorite performers.

"As a singer, songwriter and performer, Mel set a high standard for all entertainers. His presence in movies and TV alongside the top actors of that time gave country music a higher profile in the '70s and made Mel a pop culture icon.

"Vince is the ultimate triple threat: a singer with the voice of an angel, a songwriter who conveys the joys and heartbreaks of life with every word he writes, and a consummate musician, who is equally at home playing guitar with Chet Atkins or Eric Clapton. As the longtime host of the CMA Awards, Vince also represented country music with dignity and humor for 12 years."

For more on these three inductees, visit countrymusichalloffame.com.