Shelby Lynne Honors Dusty Springfield


Shelby Lynne photo courtesy of Lost Highway Records.

October 10, 2007 — Singer-songwriter Shelby Lynne will preview her new album of Dusty Springfield songs, Just a Little Lovin', during a handful of club dates in November.

Shelby's new album is set for release on February 5, 2008. Nine of its 10 tracks are songs Dusty previously recorded, including the title track, "Anyone Who Had a Heart", "Breakfast in Bed" and "You Don't Have to Say You Love Me." Shelby's original song, "Pretend," rounds out the track list.

Shelby says the album is the result of Dusty's boundless inspiration. Producer Phil Ramone and engineer Al Schmitt helped her reinterpret the songs using a minimalist production style that allows the songs to shine through Shelby's vocals. All the tracks were recorded live at Capitol Studio A in Los Angeles, using two-inch tape. The arrangements happened spontaneously, based solely on inspiration and vibe.