Patty Griffin Takes Top Honors at Americana Music Awards


Patty Griffin photo courtesy of ATO Records.


Emmylou Harris Photo Courtesy of Nonesuch Records

November 6, 2007 — The Americana Music Association announced the winners of its Sixth Annual Honors and Awards last week at the Ryman Auditorium in Nashville, The Tennessean reports.

Patty Griffin took home the Artist and Album of the Year prizes. "I'm not much of an awards show fan, in general," she said. "I mean, how do you compare songs with each other? But this feels different. It's nice to be here and be a part of this music."

The Avett Brothers also won two awards, for Duo/Group of the Year and New/Emerging Artist of the Year. Mary Martin earned her award not by singing or playing guitar but by bringing important musicians to popular attention. She spent years heading the A&R department at Warner Bros. and was responsible for guiding the early careers of Emmylou Harris and Rodney Crowell, who presented her with the Jack Emerson Lifetime Achievement for an Executive award.

"Mary supported so many people who made the music, and she herself was just as creative and committed to the music as anyone," Emmylou said. "She has done so much, and I have been a happy beneficiary."

The show included appearances from Marty Stuart, Lyle Lovett (who received the Trailblazer Award), Rodney, Emmylou, the Greencards and Old Crow Medicine Show.


Album of the Year: Patty Griffin, Children Running Through
Artist of the Year: Patty Griffin
Duo/Group of the Year: Avett Brothers
Instrumentalist of the Year: Buddy Miller
New/Emerging Artist of the Year: Avett Brothers
Song of the Year: "Hank Williams' Ghost" by Darrell Scott

Lyle Lovett: Trailblazer Award
Joe Ely: Lifetime Achievement for Performance
Mavis Staples: "Spirit of Americana" Free Speech Award
Ry Cooder: Lifetime Achievement for Instrumentalist
Willie Nelson: Lifetime Achievement for Songwriter
Mary Martin: Lifetime Achievement for an Executive
Jim Dickinson: Lifetime Achievement for a Producer Engineer
Townes Van Zandt: The Presidents Award